Have You Ever Purchased An Album Based Solely On A Review You Read, Having Never Heard The Music?

This would probably be next to impossible to do in the internet era, since one can dial up any musical artists website, Myspace, etc., and listen to their music for free, but…
Around 1993, I read numerous reviews praising PJ Harvey’s ‚Rid of Me’ album, calling it one of the best records of the year. I read so many reviews of that nature, I gambled and bought it, and really liked it.
Anyone else?

11 Comments

  1. Radio Jingles wrote
    at 21:56 - 10th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    I used to read Creem Magazine back in the 70’s and based on their reviews starting listening and buying a lot of British and US new wave and punk – Sex Pistols, The Clash, Lene Lovich, Patti Smith, etc. and was never once disappointed.

  2. cbjr wrote
    at 1:30 - 11th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Yes. back in 86/87 I read a review of 2 new LA bands coming on the scene and the review was comparing the two groups albums and gave both great reviews and suggested that one of them was destined for stardom. The „stardom” band was Faster Pussycat, with their debut. The other was Guns N Roses with Appetite. I picked up both and needless to say I was blown away with GnR. It was more than a year later when they finally caught on with everyone else, and the guy actually printed a retraction on his review.

  3. Dr Gonzo wrote
    at 4:16 - 11th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    never read any music reviews, ive only ever bought 4 albums…when i was about 9 I started listening to what music was in my house, which went from straight outta compton to blood on the tracks and my taste has developed from there!

  4. Starla Dear wrote
    at 9:37 - 11th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    No. I don’t read mamy reviews, and when I do it’s usually from Rolling Stone. I don’t trust Rolling Stones opinions on albums.
    Maybe I should try doing that though.

  5. MetalMark (Anti-Crap) wrote
    at 14:53 - 11th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Not that I know of.
    I use the 30 second samples, and if possible, listen to the entire album BEFORE spending a cent.

  6. Nikkie. wrote
    at 19:41 - 11th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Yeah.
    I tend to believe Pitchfork when they give a good review on an album. Today though, I was at the record store and I left the new Black Kids full length because it got a 3.8

  7. [Stephan wrote
    at 2:11 - 12th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    i heard billy talents album was really good i heard from my friend not a review.. her and mine tastes are differnt though.. i took teh chance adn feel in love with it

  8. This Monkey's Gone to Heaven wrote
    at 6:03 - 12th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Well I read that MCR’s The Black Parade was supposed to be the next great rock opera….WRONG!

  9. S K wrote
    at 6:24 - 12th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    ‚Damage’ by The Blues Explosion. Even at my age, I can appreciate good rock.

  10. Arsay wrote
    at 12:48 - 12th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Nope, I buy what I like. Screw what others think.

  11. Pirate Girls Kick Butt! wrote
    at 14:07 - 12th Grudzień 2009 Permalink

    Yup. A ton of ‚em.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

Ruletka